What's hot today

Geek Chic

When I was growing up –in the Dark Ages that is… – geeky was not an aspiring look. I remember the day that I went to the eye doctor; he prescribed reading glasses and that was one of the grimmest days of my life. How would an otherwise cute looking 16 year old be glamorous and wear glasses at the same time? Back then, glasses would take one off the dating game and put one straight into the geeky world of social solitude. So, the ones of us who had to wear those spectacles – in order not to become a spectacle- had to only wear them in class and had to take them off when no reading from afar was involved. We would rather have blurry vision than be seen in glasses. Silly yes, but oh! So true.

Fast forward to 2011 and 2012 and the geek has become chic. Hurray, what a relief! We can all channel a stylish/geeky look and feel ultra cool and may I dare, a tad glamorous. Even those who don’t need the specs wear them on occasion. Anne Hathaway, among the leading fashion pack, even wore hers at a Red Carpet Event! If I see people wearing specs at the Emmys or the Oscars, I am throwing a party and will invite all the geeks I know.

The way to do geek chic is to go bald and big. Wear your hair in a sexy messy way, so you can look the part of ‘cool geek’. My favourite geek specs are by Tom Ford (featured above), who was among the first designers to bring the specs into fashion. But if your budget does not stretch that far, Gok, the other mother of chic geek has some nice options too.

As far as I am concerned, I am now the proud owner of 2 pairs of geeky specs and use them as wardrobe staples on a daily basis. My contact lens bill is lower and my eyes ever so grateful. I am even thinking of wearing them at a black tie event soon. I will be then known as the geeky chic chick in the strapless dress. My 16 year old self would be so impressed.

Leave a Reply

